Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

Make-Ahead Freezer Meal Saves Dinner!

on May 2, 2012

Oh no, it’s 6:00! What will I make for dinner?  Feeling very under the weather for most of the day, dinner was the last thing on my mind.  But, for some reason my kids and husband want dinner every day!  😉

My hubby stepped right in and wanted to help but just didn’t know what to make as everything was frozen and required some time to  cook. I thought about all those freezer to crock pot meals I prepared a few weeks ago and remembered I had also put in the freezer some Mexican beef for taco’s that I made.  Perfect!  Just needed to heat & serve along with all the yummy taco toppings. 😀

My healthier version

Mexican Beef for Taco's

Here are the ingredients for the beef:

Hamburger

Black Beans

Spinach (finely chopped)

Onion

Garlic

Taco Seasoning

My husband was a little worried that the black beans and spinach would scare the kids away but guess what?  They didn’t even notice!  They loved dinner. Too bad I didn’t feel well enough to eat. It looked delicious.

Preparing meals in advance and freezing them is such a huge time-saver for me.  Especially nice, on days like today when I was just not up to spending much time in the kitchen preparing some fancy meal.

Do you have some easy make ahead meal favorites for your family?   I’d love to hear about them.

3 responses to “Make-Ahead Freezer Meal Saves Dinner!

  1. Nikki says:

    This looks great! I’m going to add it to my menu this week! Thanks for sharing……..

    Nikki @ Mommy & the Monsters

  2. Thank you Nikki, my pleasure 🙂

  3. […] seasoned patty’s for burgers. If you have the time go ahead and make some meatballs & taco meat […]

Leave a Reply

