Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

Regrow Green Onions

on May 15, 2012

Any onion lovers out there?

I use onions a lot in my cooking.  Red, White, Yellow and Green Onions we love them all.

One day, while visiting Pinterest I came across the idea to regrow green onions.  Did you know you can regrow them in water on your windowsill?  Awesome idea!  I had to give it a try.

I saved the white end and simply placed it in a glass with enough water to cover most of the bulb. I put the glass on my kitchen windowsill.

I started with one bulb to see if this would work for me.

In just a day or two I could see new growth, so I added a few more to the glass.

Yay! They’re growing!

And, this is what they looked like after about 5 days…

Still growing….

I quickly realized I was going to need a bigger glass for the onions 🙂

We use our kitchen shears to cut off what we need for meals.

The water will get murky looking so remember to change the water and rinse the roots every couple of days.

Pretty cool, huh? Give it a try and let me know how they turn out for you 😀

Happy Onion Regrowing to you!

One response to “Regrow Green Onions

  1. Karen says:

    That is something…I had read about it but your photos prove it works.

Leave a Reply

