Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

What should I read next?

on May 30, 2012

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”  ~Charles W. Eliot

“A house without books is like a room without windows.”  ~Heinrich Mann

We are a book reading family over here. I may even have a little addiction to buying books.  My husband is in the process of building a large bookcase with a window seat in our family room. I’m so excited!

As much as I love buying books, I find that the Kindle is much easier on my eyes for bedtime reading.  They seem to get fatigued much quicker when reading from a book.

I just love to see my kids reading a book instead of being in front of a video game or a movie.

I have a book reading goal for the year.  So, I am always looking for good book suggestions.

On facebook, A Bowl Full Of Lemons (http://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Bowl-Full-of-Lemons/180126692003060) recently shared this great site called, What Should I read next?  She referred to it as Pandora for books 😉 I thought it was so awesome that I wanted to share it myself. You enter a book you like and the site will analyse their huge database of real readers’ favorite books to provide book recommendations and suggestions for what to read next.  Simply type in a book, author or ISBN. Check it out here: http://www.whatshouldireadnext.com/?

How cool is that?!

I’m putting together a reading list and book club for my kids this summer and I think this site will be very useful.

What’s on your summer reading list?  I still need to buy my books for June – I’ll be using What Should I Read Next? but would still love any other suggestions you might have for me. This is what I read for May: (https://baconandkids.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/may-reading-list/)

Happy Reading to you! 🙂

P.S. Here are a few more nice quotes about books:

“Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.”  ~P.J. O’Rourke

“You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.”  ~Paul Sweeney

“That is a good book which is opened with expectation and closed with profit.”  ~Amos Bronson Alcott

“A man may as well expect to grow stronger by always eating as wiser by always reading.”  ~Jeremy Collier

“Books support us in our solitude and keep us from being a burden to ourselves.”  ~Jeremy Collier

2 responses to “What should I read next?

  1. 365reasonstobehappygirl says:

    Thanks for the link to the website. I have a long flight this week and nothing to read. I noticed your Starbucks Experience book and I have just finished, Onward by the CEO Howard Schultz. For a business book, as such, not usually my style but REALLY good! Also, if you liked Tina Fey’s book (I loved it!) try Caitlin Moran’s How To Be A Woman – absolutely brilliant! Thanks again for the link 🙂 Sam

Leave a Reply

