Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

June Reading List

on June 6, 2012

What books will I read during June?  Yikes! It’s June 6, and I didn’t order any new books for June.  The kids and I decided that a trip to the library was in order.

First thing we did was make a quick stop at the coffee shop for a donut and a mocha for me.  It was early enough still that the library wasn’t open, so we enjoyed our snack down by the river. Insanely beautiful day!

At the library, I realized I didn’t have my list of book recommendations so I had to wing it.

This is what I came home with:

Look at all these books!

Okay, so maybe I was a little ambitious. Some of these books may move over to my July Reading List.  Or maybe I will just start with “Time Management from the Inside Out” by Julie Morgenstern and learn how to manage my time so I can fit these all in.  Not likely.  Although, I would definitely be way ahead of my reading goal for the year!

I started reading 3 of them today, Time Management, One Perfect Day and Hearts on a String.  My intention was just to scan them but before I knew it I was 20 pages in.  (I will try to just read one at a time …honest;)

If anyone has read any of these books, let me know what you thought about them.

My son picked out a couple of books to read until I make his summer reading calendar.  The picture didn’t turn out very well.   He has a couple of the Magic Tree House books and one Lego Star Wars book.

Caleb’s Picks

And well, my daughter has her usual theme of Princess and Barbie going on.  I will be adding a variety of themes/subjects to her summer reading list.  Our next visit to the library will include more of my help in picking out her books.

Savannah’s Books

 

My husband and I decided we want to really limit the amount of TV & video game playing time this summer.  It goes by too fast to waste in front of the television.  I’d much rather see the kids outside playing, swimming in the pool and reading.

So my project this week is to complete their reading calendar. (I will post it when I am done with it)  They have several friends that are participating in our summer reading program. Should be fun for them, plus I’m promising prizes each month for reaching their reading goals.

I’d love some suggestions or recommendations of what summer reading programs/lists/calendars worked for your family.

What’s on your June Reading List?

Happy Reading to you! 🙂

~Betty

Leave a Reply

