Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

Chicken Tortilla Soup

on January 11, 2013

Awesome Chicken Tortilla Soup 

Chicken Tortilla Soup- Bacon and Kids

This is one of our favorite soups and seems to taste better each time I make it. The problem is, I make it different every time.  After having several people ask for the recipe, yesterday I thought to write down a “recipe” for it as I prepared it. 

I’m going to warn you, the recipe is ROUGH. (Almost as rough as my photography skills!) The good thing though with Chicken Tortilla Soup is that it’s hard to screw up.    If you hate corn in soup…don’t add it. If you like more cilantro, black beans, extra tomato…go for it. Here’s my ingredient list:

2 Chicken Breast

1/4 c finely chopped Peppers (red, green, orange and or yellow)

2 small Onions chopped

1/4 c finely chopped Carrot

1/4 c finely chopped Celery

Garlic (a couple of cloves- chopped)

1 Can Black Beans

1 Can Diced Tomatoes w/Jalapeno

1/2 c Corn (frozen, fresh or canned)

10 cups Water

Chicken Bouillon (about 10 teaspoons or to taste)

Chopped Cilantro (to taste)

2 T fresh lime juice

Salt & Pepper

Cumin

1 C. Velveeta Cheese (any cheese spread)

1 C. Cheese (Colby, Pepper Jack, etc)

Toppings:

Tortilla Strips

Sour Cream

Cheese

Avocado

Cilantro

This is what I did:

Boiled chicken breast in 2 cups of water. I added some garlic, chicken bouillon, bay leaf, cumin & salt & pepper.

While the chicken is cooking I put all the veggies in a pot with water & bouillon and simmer.

Once the chicken is cooked, shred it and add to the pot w/the veggies along with the broth you cooked the chicken in.

Add the cheeses and lime juice.

It turned out delicious!!  The picture doesn’t do it justice, it’s such a good-looking soup with all the pretty colors together.  I suppose I could spend more time trying to improve the quality of my pictures but my hubby was anxious to start eating the soup as I was using his bowl as my model. lol 

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Oops, I forgot the tortilla strips…

This recipe makes a lot of soup but you can freeze any leftovers or share with a friend or two.  I tend to always make extras as I like to have some ready to share with friends.

Oh and there are lots of short cut possibilities w/this soup. Use a rotisserie chicken and or add a jar of salsa to the broth instead of chopping all the veggies.

I hope that you enjoy the recipe.  Let me know!

Happy Chicken Tortilla Soup making to you!

~Betty

P.S. Please visit Bacon and Kids on Facebook, Twitter & Pinterest.

 

Leave a Reply

