Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

Cabbage and Ham Soup

on February 1, 2013

Cabbage & Ham Soup

Cabbage and Ham Soup Recipe

When I think of cabbage soup I think of diet food. Not a fan.

So why did I make it? Well, I had some cabbage in the fridge and left over spiral ham and wanted to use them up. I love making soups so I thought why not make a big pot of Cabbage & Ham soup?

My hubby quickly let me know he won’t go near the soup. (True to his word, he wouldn’t even taste it.)

I didn’t have a recipe for the soup but I figured I could make something up.

Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

About 4 cups Cabbage, finely shredded 

1/2 cup Carrots, finely chopped
1/2 cup Celery , finely chopped
1 small Onion, chopped
1/4 c red pepper -chopped
1 can petite diced tomatoes
Garlic
10 cups water
Chicken Bouillon 0r Vegetable Broth (add as much as you need for the amount of water added)
Bay leaf
dash chili pepper
thyme
parsley & cilantro (fresh – I used about a tablespoon of finely chopped cilantro and a handful chopped parsley.)
1 or 2 cups Ham (diced or I like to cut it into thin strips)

Directions:

Chop all the veggies

Cabbage and Ham Soup

The colors look great!

Add veggies, water & seasoning to cooking pot.

Cook for a few hours or until veggies are tender.

I added the ham about half way through cook time.

Enjoy!

 

Loaded with healthy goodness, this soup turned out very well!

 

Happy Cabbage & Ham Soup Making to you!

~Betty

Please stop by and say hello to us on Facebook, Twitter & Pinterest

 

 

Leave a Reply

