Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

Earth Day Snack

on April 22, 2013

For Earth Day I made these little dirt cup snacks for both of my kids’ classmates & teachers. 

cup of dirt dessert

It really is an easy, fun & delicious snack – however, I totally underestimated how much time I would need to put them together. Had I made enough pudding and crushed enough Oreo’s before I got started would have made the process a little quicker.

Earth day school snack dirt dessert

These ones were for my daughters classroom..

I made enough for both classrooms – 60 cups of dirt dessert!!

embellish plastic spoons with flowers

My daughter and I hot glued flowers & leaves to green spoons. Super easy! They turned out very pretty.

flowers on spoons

My daughter wanted to make a special butterfly spoon for her teacher. :)

My daughter wanted to make a special butterfly spoon for her teacher. 🙂

I layered the cups with crumbled brownie, added some chocolate pudding, crushed Oreo’s for the dirt look and of course, what would a cup of dirt be without adding some gummy worms?!  

Our kids thought they looked awesome and couldn’t wait to enjoy them during snack time at school.

When I dropped the snacks off this morning to their classrooms, the students eyes lit up! Although, I did ask them to close their eyes for a second while I attempted to embarrass my son and kiss him on the cheek. He quickly dropped to the floor to avoid the kiss. LOL

Cup of dirt dessert

These are the ones for my sons classmates & teacher 😀

Generally, the mid morning school snack is supposed to be a healthy one but their teachers made an exception for the Earth Day celebration. Besides, there is a lot of milk in the pudding right? Oh, and the brownies have eggs! 😉

Happy Earth Day to you!

~Betty

Please stop by and say hello to Bacon & Kids on Facebook. We also have some really great Pinterest boards, check them out! 🙂 ~ Thank you!!

 

3 responses to “Earth Day Snack

  1. […] Earth Day Snack | Bacon & Kids – For Earth Day I made these little dirt cup snacks for both of my kids’ classmates & teachers. It really is an easy, … Earth Day Snack … the mid morning school snack is supposed to be a healthy one but their teachers made an exception for the Earth Day celebration. […]

  2. Amanda Asherman says:

    How much of each ingredient did you buy to make enough for 60?

    • Hello, I don’t remember how much I purchased. I do remember running out of pudding and needing to buy more. One thing to keep in mind is if you’re making this for a classroom snack…keep it snack size. Doesn’t need to be a full serving. Sorry I wasn’t more help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

