Bacon & Kids

Successfully Bring Home the Bacon and Raise Happy Kids!

Kindergarten Graduation Candy Themed Party

on July 19, 2012

A Kindergarten Graduation Party?  I know a little over the top but that’s what we did for our son when he  graduated from kindergarten two years ago.  So of course, to be fair we needed to do the same for my daughter and three of her friends that also graduated from Kindergarten.  The guest list included 16 kids 8 yrs old and under. Yikes!

I told myself I would do a great job taking lots of pictures throughout the evening but having a house full of 40+ guests, I missed a lot of photo opportunities including some of the decorations and candy themed details inside and outside of the house.  (I’m sure you’ll note  the quality of my pictures needs serious improvement 😉

Thanks to Pinterest with lots of delicious candy theme party ideas, that’s the theme I chose to go with.

CANDY PARTY! 🙂

It was a lot of work making all the decorations which required several trips to the dollar store (gotta love the dollar store for parties!)

My husband was a big help in setting up for the party. A friend of mine also helped with making the decorations and set up.  So grateful for the help I received!

(To see my post  “The Making Of The Party Decorations” visit here: https://baconandkids.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/candy-party-making-the-decorations/  )

Decorations outside included giant tissue paper pom pom’s, the fence had lots of faux wrapped candy using colored plastic plates and even the flower pots had lollipops in them.

Lollipops in the flower pots

Beach balls wrapped with table covering to look like candy 🙂

Outdoor Chalkboard Congratulating our Grads 🙂

And a fun wreath for the door.

Isn’t this a happy wreath?

I found some cute candy themed party supplies from Hobby Lobby. (Invitations, Napkins, Treat Bags, Labels, Water Bottle Labels, etc.)

The Menu:

Appetizers/Snacks:    Pretzels, Chex Mix & Rainbow Fish Crackers  (I used clear plastic cups w/rainbow cupcake liners.)

Food table with the snack cups in place

Rainbow Vegetable Tray & Dip (I found Purple Cauliflower but couldn’t find any blue veggies, I actually thought about trying to dye the cucumbers blue but that would have been gross 🙂

Rainbow Veggies & Rainbow Fruit Kabobs

Fruit Kabobs w/fruit dip (Of course, I had to add rainbow-colored sugar to the top of the dip 😉

Fruit dip

Dinner:

Steak, Chicken, Italian Sausage & Veggie Kabobs

Loaded Potato Salad

Baked Beans

I attached the wrapped plastic ware to the plates to make for easier handling. 

Games/Activities

  • 3 legged race
  • Balance a golf ball on a teaspoon….  (My daughter always sticks her tongue out when she’s concentrating on something. I Love it!)

My daughter fully concentrating on balancing the golf ball on the teaspoon 😉

Those activities we did at the park near my house.

And we had a Bubble Station…

Bubble Juice in the Iced Tea Pitcher

It was a beautifully hot day so the kids also went swimming (twice).

Other games included: Ladder Ball & Bean Bag Toss

Favors & Gifts: 

We asked the parents to bring a wrapped gift for their child(ren) – So when it was time to open all the gifts we lined the kids up and gave each of them a present. So fun to watch their expressions of excitement!

Just some of the presents for the kids 😀

For the favors I bought glow necklaces and tied little treat bags with water balloons and a ring pop to them.  For the younger children, I did a glow necklace and bottle of bubbles.

Party Favors

For the Kindergarten Grads:

Gifts for the grads 🙂

A puzzle, glow bracelets, chap stick, lollipop hair ties and a graduation bear.

Candy Buffet:  

Candy Table without the Cake (Candy bowls are wrapped to keep little fingers out until party time 😀

Skittles, Rock Candy, Pixie Stix, Rainbow Licorice, Mike & Ike’s, Jelly Beans, Sour Candy, M&M’s, Gumballs & Cake

My sister was a big help with this fun project. I gave her my vision and she executed beautifully.

Rainbow Candy Table (minus the cake )

A friend made a yummy Candy Land Cake! It turned out very well. (I’m hoping one of the other moms sends me a picture with the cake in it, because I forgot to take one!!)

Another  friend made these adorable lollipop centerpieces!

Lollipop Centerpiece 🙂

The kids loved visiting the candy table and filling up treat bags to take home.

(With all the candy they ate and took home, I would definitely recommend including a toothbrush in the favor bags.  I just ran out of time to buy them. I saw the toothbrush idea here:  Check out this Candy Land Themed Party! )

All in all, I would say the party was a huge success.  What a relief to have it over with though!

(Who am I kidding?….I’m a sucker for themed parties and am already thinking about my next excuse for a party.)

Happy Partying to you!!

P.S. I would love to connect with you here on facebook –

P.P.S. Feel free to leave me a comment with your thoughts on this party. Thank you very much!


Leave a comment